An Artist’s Note

Welcome to the beginning of what looks like will be a very long journey. There’s no knowing what will come of this project, but that’s part of the fun, isn’t it?

It’d probably be smart to first explain what it is exactly that I plan on doing. Quite simple a concept, really: I take the major landmarks I’ve had the opportunity to witness in my lifetime so far and I draw them. I start from China and I end in America, a symbolic (and perhaps cheesy) representation of my life in terms of heritage and influence.

From what I’ve started today, I predict that I have bitten off far more than I can chew. Sketching the skyline of a city is particularly time-consuming because each individual building requires shading and a certain amount of attention. The one whole class period that I had to work on my drawing today was only enough time to sketch out the skyline and do a quick layer of shading. The process is long and to think I have to do this ten to twelve more times, I may start to dread it. However, this is not something I’m going to give up on. If it takes five hours to draw a picture instead of two, so be it. What do them old knickerbockers call it? Carpe Diem? Carpe Diem.

So on we go…

2 thoughts on “An Artist’s Note

Leave a comment